(Wholly owned by Govt. of West Bengal)
A Never - Failing Partner in State's Progress


Constitution of WBIDFC Ltd.

ABOUT US >> Governance >> Constitution

West Bengal Infrastructure Development Finance Corporation Ltd. (WBIDFC) was incorporated on 23rd May 1997 under the Companies Act, 1956 as a Government Company registered with the Registrar of Companies (ROC), West Bengal. The Certificate of Commencement of Business was issued to the Company by the ROC, West Bengal, on 29th May, 1997. Subsequently, WBIDFC registered itself with the Reserve Bank of India as a Non-Banking Financial Company (NBFC) in the category of Loan Company (LC). The certificate of registration with RBI was issued on 21st August, 1997.

   Present Chairman

Dr. Abhirup Sarkar

   From:- 27.12.2011 to till date    

Abhirup Sarkar obtained his bachelor's degree in economics from Presidency College, Calcutta and a Masters from the University of Calcutta. He did his Ph.D. from the University of Rochester and has spent most of his academic career at the Indian Statistical Institute, Calcutta. He has also taught at various other places in India and abroad including the University of Florida, USA, Brigham Young University, USA, Concordia University, Canada, International Centre for Economic Research, Italy and the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta. The primary areas of his research interests are International Trade and Economic Development. Apart from being the Chairman of WBIDFC, he is a member of the Group of Advisors to the Union Finance Minister on G20 matters, Vice Chairman of WBIDC, a member of the West Bengal State Planning Board and the Chairman of the Expert Committee on Higher Education of West Bengal.

   Past Chairman

Shri. Ashok Bandyopadhyay

   From:- 23.05.1997 to 09.02.2010    

Shri. C. M. Bachhawat

   From:- 10.02.2010 to 23.06.2011    

Shri. Abhijit Mukherjee

   From:- 24.06.2011 to 25.07.2011    

   Present Managing Director

Shri. Asok Kr. Das is the present
Managing Director of WBIDFC

   From:- 01.02.2006 to till date    

Prior to Shri A. K. Das, Shri N. K. Maity was the Managing Director of WBIDFC
From:- 27.08.1999 To:- 31.01.2006


Copyright 2011 WBIDFC. All Rights Reserved.
Site created by Centre for Distributed Computing, Jadavpur University.